Drivetime Sports

2011 Broyles Finalist Announced Today

11/28/2011 3:56 PM

What: The Broyles Award selection committee has chosen the following five finalists for the 2011 Broyles Award:
• John Chavis, Louisiana State University, Defensive Coordinator
• Paul Chryst, University of Wisconsin, Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks
• Greg Mattison, Michigan, Defensive Coordinator
• Garrick McGee, University of Arkansas, Offensive Coordinator/QBs
• Sal Sunseri, Alabama, Assistant Head Coach/Linebackers

More information: The 2011 Broyles Award winner will be announced on Tuesday, December 6 at 11:30 a.m. at the Peabody Hotel in Little Rock, AR. The Broyles Award is presented by The Rotary Club of Little Rock. The winner of the 2010 Broyles Award was Gus Malzahn, Auburn University.
For more information, visit or
*Photographs will be available on the Web site.*
 About the Broyles Award: 
There are few coaches whose efforts have forever impacted the game of college football. Bear Bryant, Knute Rockne, Frank Leahy and Eddie Robinson have set the standard for victories and championships on the gridiron. However when it comes to selecting, developing and producing great assistant coaches, the legacy of Frank Broyles stands alone. Former Broyles assistant coaches who have become head coaches have gone on to coach in 20 percent of all Super Bowls and win almost 15 percent of all Super Bowl titles plus five national collegiate championships, more than 40 conference titles and more than 2,000 games. More than 25 Broyles assistants went on to become head coaches at the college or professional level, including: Joe Gibbs, Hayden Fry, Raymond Berry, Jimmy Johnson, Johnny Majors, Jackie Sherrill and Barry Switzer.

In 1996, the Broyles Award was established to recognize the dedicated, hard-working assistants like those who worked for Broyles, and to date, seventy plus finalists and fifteen winners have been honored. Like many of Broyles' assistants who went on to do great things, numerous coaches recognized by the Broyles Award have since remained in the spotlight, with 20 percent of finalists and winners going on to become head coaches.

The finalists are chosen by a 10 person panel that may be the most prestigious of any awards panel, representing 10 national championships, more than 2,000 victories, over 70 conference titles, 154 bowl game appearances and 13 national head coach of the year honors.   Broyles Award Panelists: Former Arkansas Athletic Director and Coach Frank Broyles, former Georgia Coach Vince Dooley, former Washington Coach Don James, former Syracuse Coach Dick MacPherson, former Baylor Coach Grant Teaff, former Brigham Young Coach LaVell Edwards, former Iowa Coach Hayden Fry, former Oklahoma Coach Barry Switzer, former Tennessee and Pittsburgh Coach Johnny Majors, and former Florida State University Coach Bobby Bowden.

Sign up for
Mike's Weekly Buzz!