Drivetime Sports

Razorback on Outland Trophy watch list

6/21/2010 10:55 AM

 FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – University of Arkansas senior offensive tackle DeMarcus Love was named to the 2010 Outland Trophy Preseason Watch List as announced by the Football Writers Association of America Monday. The prestigious list gives football fans the first glimpse at a great crop of college offensive and defensive tackles, guards and centers.

            Love has started 24 games for the Razorbacks, including all 13 games at offensive tackle during the 2009 season in which he was a team captain. He was a member of the unit that blocked for an offense that led the SEC in scoring offense (36.0), pass offense (295.5) and was third in total offense (427.3).

            Arkansas boasts two Outland Trophy winners in its history. An offensive guard and defensive tackle, Bill “Bud” Brooks was the first UA honoree in 1954. Tackle Loyd Phillips became the second winner in school history when he was honored in 1966.

The FWAA will consider other players for the 2010 Outland Trophy Watch List and will also delete players as the season progresses. The FWAA All-America Committee will select three finalists in late November and eventually the overall winner.

The Outland Trophy, presented annually since 1946, is the third oldest award in major college football. The Outland Trophy is named after the late John Outland, an All-America lineman at Penn and Kansas at the turn of the century. The 2010 winner will be announced on The Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show on Dec. 9.

The Outland Trophy presentation banquet, sponsored by the Greater Omaha Sports Committee, will be on Jan. 13 in Omaha, Neb.




Sam Acho, Texas, DT
Marvin Austin, North Carolina, DT
Tim Barnes, Missouri, C
Colin Baxter, Arizona, C
Sean Bedford, Georgia Tech, C
Chase Beeler, Stanford, C
Clint Boling, Georgia, T
Justin Boren, Ohio State, G
Cory Brandon, Oklahoma, T
Mike Brewster, Ohio State, C
Bryant Browning, Ohio State, G
Marcus Cannon, TCU, T
Gabe Carimi, Wisconsin, T
James Carpenter, Alabama, T
Jurrell Casey, USC, DT
Anthony Castonzo, Boston College, T
Thomas Claiborne, Boston College, G
Jared Crick, Nebraska, DT
Blake DeChristopher, Virginia Tech, T
Art Forst, Rutgers, G
Marcus Forston, Miami, DT
Orlando Franklin, Miami, T
Anthony Gray, Southern Miss, DT
Lawrence Guy, Arizona State, DT
Ben Habern, Oklahoma, C
Kyle Hix, Texas, T
Rodney Hudson, Florida State, G
Omar Hunter, Florida, DT
Rod Huntley, UTEP, G
Zach Hurd, Connecticut, G
Benjamin Ijalana, Villanova, T
Jarvis Jenkins, Clemson, DT
Carl Johnson, Florida, G
Barrett Jones, Alabama, G
Ben Jones, Florida, C
Jake Kirkpatrick, TCU, C
Karl Klug, Iowa, DT
Ben Lamaak, Iowa State, C
DeMarcus Love, Arkansas, T
Ryan McMahon, Florida State, C
Ryan Miller, Colorado, G
Drake Nevis, LSU, DT
Kristofer O'Dowd, USC, C
Josh Oglesby, Wisconsin, T
Stephen Paea, Oregon State, DT
Alan Pelc, North Carolina, G
Jason Pinkston, Pittsburgh, T
Ken Plue, Purdue, G
Nate Potter, Boise State, G
Mike Pouncey, Florida, C
Jerrell Powe, Ole Miss, DT
Matt Reynolds, BYU, T
Trevor Robinson, Notre Dame, T
Stephen Schilling, Michigan, G
Caleb Schlauderaff, Utah, G
Nate Solder, Colorado, T
Adrian Taylor, Oklahoma, DT
Zane Taylor, Utah, C
Bo Thran, Oregon, T
Muhammad Wilkerson, Temple, DT
Stefen Wisniewski, Penn State, G
Lee Ziemba, Auburn, T






Sign up for
Mike's Weekly Buzz!