Drivetime Sports

Jerry Franklin on Butkus Award Watch List

8/18/2010 3:37 PM

CHICAGO – University of Arkansas football linebacker Jerry Franklin has been named to the 26th annual Butkus Award watch list, it was announced Tuesday by The Butkus Foundation. The award, instituted in 1985, is given annually to the nation’s best college linebacker.

Franklin, a junior, has been the Razorbacks’ leading tackler his first two seasons with the squad, totaling 171 tackles. Last season, Franklin brought in 94 total tackles, with five going for a loss. He played in all 13 games, starting 12, where he added three interceptions, 1.5 sacks, three pass break-ups and two fumble recoveries.

The Butkus Award semifinalists will be named Oct. 21, at a Butkus Charity Fight Night at Soldier Field in Chicago. Finalists will be named Nov. 23, and winners will be notified on or before Dec. 8.

Butkus Award selection is handled by a 51-person panel. The group includes many of the nation’s most-respected coaches, general managers, talent evaluators, scouts and media.




Sign up for
Mike's Weekly Buzz!