Drivetime Sports

Williams announced as Mackey Award Finalist

11/22/2010 11:13 AM

Bethpage, N.Y. (November 22, 2010) - The Nassau County Sports Commission has announced three finalists for the 2010 John Mackey Award. Listed alphabetically, they are Michael Egnew (JR, Missouri), Lance Kendricks (SR, Wisconsin) and D.J. Williams (SR, Arkansas).
The three finalists were determined by confidential balloting of the John Mackey Selection Committee. The 2010 recipient of "The Mackey" will be presented live at the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Red Carpet Show December 9, 2010  at 6 p.m. EST on ESPNU. Please visit for all Mackey Award related information including the John Mackey Selection Committee, the selection process and award criteria, information on all past award recipients and a high resolution image of the award trophy available for download.
The Nassau County Sports Commission, a non-profit, 501(c)(3) organization sponsored by Briarcliffe College, is responsible for the administration of the John Mackey Award and the John Mackey Award Selection Committee. For additional information, please visit
The John Mackey Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game's predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. For more information, visit the association's official website,

The presentation of the John Mackey Award will be featured on The Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Red Carpet Show live on Thursday, Dec. 9, at 6 p.m. EST on ESPNU.  The Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show then begins at 7 p.m. EST on ESPN. The show, hosted by ESPN's Chris Fowler, Lee Corso and Kirk Herbstreit will feature the live presentation of nine player awards, along with the recipients of Disney's Spirit Award; The Home Depot Coach of the Year Award, the NCFAA (National College Football Awards Association) Contributions to College Football Award; and student-athletes selected to the Walter Camp All-America Team.  Fans can visit the show's dedicated Web site at to find the latest college football awards news, including show details, previous winners, fan voting, a photo gallery and video highlights.

2010 John Mackey Award Finalists
(alphabetical order)

Michael Egnew (JR, Missouri)
Lance Kendricks (SR, Wisconsin)
D.J. Williams (SR, Arkansas)

All-time John Mackey Award Recipients

2000 - Tim Stratton, Purdue
2001 - Dan Graham, Colorado
2002 - Dallas Clark, Iowa
2003 - Kellen Winslow II, Miami (FL)
2004 - Heath Miller, Virginia
2005 - Marcedes Lewis, UCLA
2006 - Matt Spaeth, Minnesota
2007 - Fred Davis, USC
2008 - Chase Coffman, Missouri
2009 - Aaron Hernandez, Florida

Sign up for
Mike's Weekly Buzz!